

IMPORTS AND EU POLICY TEAM

OVS NOTE 2025/05

17 January 2025

IMPORTS OF UNTREATED WOOL AND HAIR – REVIEW OF RULES/IMPORT CONDITIONS

Purpose

1. To advise you that we have implemented new rules for imports of untreated wool and hair.

Background

- The World Organisation for Animal Health (WOAH) asked us to review our rules for the importation into GB of untreated wool and hair as our rules were not in line with WOAH recommendations to mitigate the risk against Foot and Mouth Disease (FMD).
- 3. Our initial review is complete and we have decided it is necessary to take urgent action to update our import conditions based on the FMD status of exporting countries.
- 4. As such, we have introduced safeguard measures based on the FMD status of exporting countries. These measures prohibit the import of untreated wool and hair of animals susceptible to foot-and-mouth disease from any countries, or zones within countries, that are not recognised by the World Organisation for Animal Health (WOAH) as free of foot-and-mouth disease either with or without vaccination. The list of FMD-free countries exempt from these restrictions are set out in Annex 1 below.
- 5. For recognised FMD-free zones within countries that are not recognised by WOAH as wholly free of foot-and-mouth disease, the measures establish additional certification requirements for imports of untreated wool and hair of animals susceptible to foot-and-mouth disease (except porcine animals).

Therefore, if the untreated wool or hair originates from an FMD-free zone listed in the annex, they must be accompanied by a completed veterinary certificate for untreated wool and/or hair from susceptible animals (other than from porcine species) from zones free from Foot-and-Mouth Disease (FMD) within a country with FMD. The countries to which these additional certification requirements apply are as follows: Botswana, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Moldova, Namibia, Russia and Turkey.

- 6. These measures have been given effect through the following safeguard declarations, which were published on 16 January 2025 and come into force the following day (17 January 2025):
 - England
 <u>England_Safeguard_Declaration_Untreated_hair_and_GBHC590.pdf</u>
 - Scotland
 <u>Scotland_Safeguard_Declaration_Untreated_hair_and_GBHC590.pdf</u>
 - Wales
 <u>Wales_Safeguard_Declaration_Untreated_hair_and_GBHC590.pdf</u>
- Although the safeguard measures will apply from 17 January 2025, a 3-month transitional period will mean that the veterinary certificate will not be required until 17 April 2025. If, before this date, you receive consignments of untreated wool and hair from zones referred to in the annex, please hold the consignment and contact Defra at <u>bbtp-issue-tirage@defra.gov.uk</u>.

Action for OVSs

To note the above information.

Contact point for enquiries

Email: <u>bbtp-issue-tirage@defra.gov.uk</u> imports@apha.gov.uk

Imports and EU Trade Team

Countries and territories which are referred to in paragraph 3 of this Declaration:

1. Albania	2. Argentina	3. Australia
4. Austria	5. Belarus	6. Belgium
7. Belize	8. Bolivia	9. Bosnia and
		Herzegovina
10. Brazil	11. Brunei	12. Bulgaria
13. Canada	14. Chile	15. Taiwan
16. Colombia	17. Costa Rica	18. Croatia
19. Cuba	20. Cyprus	21. Czechia
22. Denmark ¹	23. Dominican	24. Ecuador
	Republic	
25. El Salvador	26. Estonia	27. Eswatini
28. Falkland Islands	29. Finland ²	30. France ³
31. Greece	32. Greenland	33. Guatemala
34. Guyana	35. Haiti	36. Honduras
37. Hungary	38. Iceland	39. Ireland
40. Italy	41. Japan	42. Latvia
43. Lesotho	44. Liechtenstein	45. Lithuania
46. Luxembourg	47. Madagascar	48. Malta
49. Mexico	50. Montenegro	51. New Caledonia
52. New Zealand	53. Nicaragua	54. North Macedonia
55. Norway	56. Panama	57. Paraguay
58. Peru	59. Philippines	60. Poland
61. Portugal⁴	62. Romania	63. San Marino
64. Saint Pierre and	65. Serbia	66. Singapore
Miquelon		
67. Slovakia	68. Slovenia	69. Spain⁵
70. Suriname	71. Sweden	72. Switzerland
73. The Netherlands	74. Ukraine	75. United States of
		America ⁶
76. Uruguay	77. Vanuatu.	

^{(&}lt;sup>1</sup>) Including Faroe Islands.
(²) Including Åland Islands.
(³) Including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Réunion.
(⁴) Including Azores and Madeira.
(⁵) Including Balearic Islands and Canary Islands.
(⁶) Including American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands.

Annex 2 - FMD-free zones within countries that are not recognised by WOAH as wholly free of foot-and-mouth disease

- i. Botswana
 - one zone consisting of Zones 3c (Dukwi), 4b, 5, 6a, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13
 - one zone consisting of Zone 3c (Maitengwe)
 - one zone covering Zone 4a
 - one zone covering Zone 6b
 - one zone covering Zone 3b
 - one zone covering Zone 7
- ii. Kazakhstan
 - Zone 1 consisting of Almaty and Zhetisu regions
 - Zone 2 consisting of Abay and East Kazakhstan regions
 - Zone 3 including part of Kyzylorda region, northern part of South Kazakhstan region, northern and central parts of Zhambyl region
 - Zone 4 including southern part of Kyzylorda region and southwestern part of South Kazakhstan region
 - Zone 5 including south-eastern part of South Kazakhstan region and southern part of Zhambyl region
- iii. Malaysia
 - one zone covering the provinces of Sabah and Sarawak
- iv. Moldova
 - one zone
- v. Namibia
 - one zone
- vi. Russia
 - Zone-South including Southern and North Caucasian Federal Districts, consisting of 13 Subjects: Rostov Oblast, Stavropol Krai, Krasnodar Krai, Volgograd Oblast, Astrakhan Oblast, Republic of Kalmykia, Chechen Republic, Republic of Ingushetia, Republic of

Dagestan, Kabardino-Balkarian Republic, Karachay-Cherkess Republic, Republic of North Ossetia-Alania, Republic of Adygea;

- Zone-Sakhalin consisting of the Island of Sakhalin and the Kurile Islands;
- Eastern Siberia consisting of two Subjects (Republic of Tuva and Republic of Buryatia) and one administrative Raion of the Republic of Altai (Kosh-Agachsky Raion)
- Zone V 'Far East' consisting of five Subjects: Amur Oblast, Jewish Autonomous Oblast, Primorsky Krai, Khabarovsky Krai, Zabaykalsky Krai
- vii. Turkey
 - one zone